Home Page

St John's Mead

Church of England Primary School

‘Valuing Effort, Valuing Others, Valuing Self’

  • Google Search
  • Google Translate

Early Years Foundation Stage

Helping to develop children’s learning in fun and interesting ways is at the heart of what we do.

We work under the themes provided by the national Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum.


The four main themes are:


1.) A Unique child.

We also believe that every child is special and are competent learners. We take this into consideration and often use individual observations when planning for activities for the week ahead.


2.) Positive Relationships.

We also believe that children will benefit dramatically and become happy learners when they are able to form secure relationships with key people. This is why we do our best to help your child feel confident and secure.


3.) Enabling Environment.


Since we believe that children learn through play their environment is key. For example if we had a holiday topic in our environment we may provide cardboard boxes that could be turned into boats using their creative and making skills; some postcards where children may make marks on them understanding that we write for a purpose and developing their hand control; some shells to compare, sort, weigh and count, developing their mathematical skills. All of these objects would be provided so the children could access them independently both inside and outside.


4.) Learning and Development.

We agree with the EYFS that children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and it is our job to support that. We also believe that all the different areas of development are equally important and inter-connected.


When observing children ‘playing’ in their environment we do this by writing a short observation on a post- it note, a learning story (click here for an Example of a Learning Story.html ) or a photograph (which can say a thousand words). From the observation we assess what learning has taken place and then plan the next steps for that individual child.



  • The EYFS is made up of seven areas of learning and development;-




  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language




  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design


The delivery of this curriculum is achieved by providing a broad range of first hand, relevant experiences.


We do not have set topics (although we do take part in seasonal celebrations such as Easter and Christmas) and plan based on the children’s interests and what we have observed. We find that if the activities are based on the children’s interests the activities mean more for the children and they become more engrossed.


All record of the children’s development such as their observations make up part of their ‘Learning Diary.’ We invite parents to look at their child’s learning diaries and add to it as we are aware that we are working in partnership and much of their child’s learning takes place at home.