Home Page

St John's Mead

Church of England Primary School

‘Valuing Effort, Valuing Others, Valuing Self’

  • Google Search
  • Google Translate



· To provide opportunities for all pupils to learn and to achieve.
· To promote pupils' spiritual, moral, social and cultural development and prepare all pupils for the opportunities, responsibilities and experiences of life.

The National Curriculum applies to all pupils of compulsory school age. It is organised on the basis of four key stages. The first two stages, Key Stage 1 (ages 5-7) and Key Stage 2 (ages 7-11) apply to this school. Pupils aged 3-5 (Nursery and Reception classes) are referred to as the Early Years Foundation Stage. This stage was introduced in September 2000 and the curriculum for this age group is based on the DfEE document , Curriculum Guidance for the Foundation Stage.

The National Curriculum covers the following subjects:-

English, Mathematics, Science, Computing, PE, History, Geography, Art, Music, Design Technology, Modern Languages.

For each subject and for each key stage, programmes of study set out what your child should be taught, and attainment targets set out the expected standards of pupils' performance.